Alabama Senate confirms William ‘Billy’ P. Ainsworth, reconfirms Robert W. Dumas and James W. Rane to Auburn University Board of Trustees

Article body

The Alabama Senate on Wednesday unanimously confirmed William “Billy” P. Ainsworth and reconfirmed Robert “Bob” W. Dumas and James “Jimmy” W. Rane to the Auburn University Board of Trustees. 

Ainsworth, a Birmingham native and Auburn alumnus, was confirmed to fill the District 5 seat on the board. Serving in his first term, Ainsworth represents Chambers, Cherokee, Cleburne, DeKalb, Etowah, Marshall, Randolph and Tallapoosa counties. Ainsworth served as a leader in the steel initiatives industry for more than 40 years before retiring from Caterpillar Inc. as group president of Energy and Transportation in 2020. Ainsworth currently serves on numerous corporate boards, such as Trinity Industries, as well as other civic and charitable organizations and boards. 

“Mr. Ainsworth represents the best that Auburn has to offer,” said Wayne T. Smith, a trustee member of the constitutionally prescribed Auburn University Trustee Selection Committee. “He was nominated for his impressive credentials and ongoing dedication to Auburn University and its students.” 

Dumas, an Auburn alumnus, is chairman of the board of directors of AuburnBank. Dumas served as the bank’s chairman, president and CEO for over two decades until his retirement in 2022. He was reconfirmed today to the District 3 – Lee County seat for a final term. Dumas also serves on the boards of the Auburn University Research and Technology Foundation, the Alabama Bankers Association and the East Alabama Medical Center. 

Rane is chairman, president and CEO of Great Southern Wood Preserving, Inc. Rane, a longtime supporter and university alumnus, was reconfirmed to serve a final term on the board, holding the District 3 seat. Rane is also president of the Jimmy Rane Foundation, an organization dedicated to providing college scholarships to deserving students. Rane resides in Abbeville, where his company is headquartered. 

Ainsworth, Dumas and Rane were nominated recently by the Auburn University Trustee Selection Committee, which forwarded the names to the state Senate for approval. The three begin their seven-year terms immediately. 

Related Media

Auburn University is a nationally ranked land grant institution recognized for its commitment to world-class scholarship, interdisciplinary research with an elite, top-tier Carnegie R1 classification, life-changing outreach with Carnegie’s Community Engagement designation and an undergraduate education experience second to none. Auburn is home to more than 30,000 students, and its faculty and research partners collaborate to develop and deliver meaningful scholarship, science and technology-based advancements that meet pressing regional, national and global needs. Auburn’s commitment to active student engagement, professional success and public/private partnership drives a growing reputation for outreach and extension that delivers broad economic, health and societal impact.