Auburn Trustee Selection Committee announces appointment to the university's board

Article body

The Auburn University Trustee Selection Committee, chaired by Chief of Staff Seth Hammett representing Gov. Robert Bentley, on Thursday, February 5, appointed Gaines Lanier to the District 5 position. His name will be forwarded to the Alabama State Senate for consideration for confirmation.

Gov. Bentley thanked the 19 individuals nominated for the open position.

"Auburn has an outstanding Board of Trustees who are committed to making the university the best it can be for students, faculty and staff. We had many highly-qualified individuals eager to serve on this board position, and I appreciate the willingness of each person to participate in today's process," said Bentley, who is president of the university's governing body.

The selection committee was composed of Gov. Bentley, current Auburn Trustees Charles McCrary and Raymond Harbert and two members of the Auburn Alumni Association Board, Beau Byrd and Bob Jones.

Related Media

Auburn University is a nationally ranked land grant institution recognized for its commitment to world-class scholarship, interdisciplinary research with an elite, top-tier Carnegie R1 classification, life-changing outreach with Carnegie’s Community Engagement designation and an undergraduate education experience second to none. Auburn is home to more than 30,000 students, and its faculty and research partners collaborate to develop and deliver meaningful scholarship, science and technology-based advancements that meet pressing regional, national and global needs. Auburn’s commitment to active student engagement, professional success and public/private partnership drives a growing reputation for outreach and extension that delivers broad economic, health and societal impact.