2022 Faculty Award Recipients

Creative Research and Scholarship Awards

The Creative Research and Scholarship Awards recognize faculty members who have distinguished themselves through research, scholarly works and creative contributions. This award recognizes two categories: sciences, medical sciences, engineering and agriculture; and fine arts, liberal arts, architecture and design, business and social and human sciences.

Dr. Robert Jackson, Dr. Jin Wang and Dr. Brian Connelly
Pictured from the left: Dr. Robert Jackson, Dr. Jin Wang and Dr. Brian Connelly

Sciences, Biomedical Sciences, Engineering and Agriculture

Dr. Jin Wang

Walt and Virginia Woltosz Professor, Chemical Engineering, Samuel Ginn College of Engineering

Wang is a noted scholar for her innovative research in process identification and control, systems biology, and biochemical engineering. Projects under Wang’s leadership have included studies on biogas conversion, animal feed production, and the process of turning organic agricultural waste into bioplastics. A prolific innovator, Wang holds 14 U.S. patents and is a senior National Academy of Inventors member. In addition, she is acknowledged for her excellence in theoretical and experimental research. She has received numerous other awards, including the Oak Ridge Associated Universities Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award and the Auburn Engineering Council Senior Faculty Research Award.

Fine Arts, Liberal Arts, Architecture & Design, Business, Social and Human Sciences

Dr. Brian Connelly

Professor, Luck Eminent Scholar, Department of Management and Entrepreneurship, Harbert College of Business

Connelly is an internationally recognized researcher exploring how corporate governance structures, such as shareholders and boards, affect competition and strategic outcomes. He is the editor of the Journal of Management and former associate editor at the Academy of Management Journal. His work is often cited in media outlets such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal and USA Today. Following 20 years of industry experience at Fortune 500 companies, Connelly has built an academic career that includes scholarly publications that have been cited over 10,000 times and 135 invited presentations at conferences around the world. He was previously named “Researcher of the Year” by the Harbert College of Business on four separate occasions.

Provost Award for Faculty Excellence in Undergraduate Research Mentoring

Established in 2012, this award recognizes faculty who demonstrate a strong commitment to undergraduate research, whose efforts support Auburn students interested in careers in research and creative works and who have shown outstanding services to students.

Dr. Robert Jackson

Albert Smith Jr. Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Samuel Ginn College of Engineering

With an emphasis on providing meaningful research experiences for undergraduate students, Jackson is credited with helping students acquire hands-on research experience and develop problem-solving and methodological skills throughout their research process. Overseeing more than 50 researchers, Jackson maintains a sustained effort to provide high-quality mentoring to Auburn students. The outstanding quality of his undergraduate research program is evidenced by the number of peer-reviewed student publications (17) and presentations (more than 19). By providing undergraduates with high-quality research experiences, students are propelled to future success in graduate and professional schools. His efforts demonstrate the importance of undergraduate research as a high-impact practice that ultimately launches students into productive professional careers.