American College of Clinical Pharmacy team finishes in top four

Published: October 19, 2022

Article body

The Auburn University Harrison College of Pharmacy team competed in the American College of Clinical Pharmacy, or ACCP, Clinical Pharmacy Challenge and finished the competition in the top four nationally.

The team consists of team captain Mattie Kilpatrick, Kaitlin Beyler and Haley Brobst, along with alternates Rachel Friend and Jillian Farrow. All five are members of the Class of 2023. Dr. Emily McCoy serves as the faculty advisor.

The finish comes after six rounds of competition, including participation from 114 institutions representing 43 states, the District of Columbia, and two international institutions. It also marks the third year in a row for the Auburn team to finish in the top 16.

The ACCP Clinical Pharmacy Challenge is a team-based competition where teams of three students will compete against teams from other schools and colleges of pharmacy in a “quiz bowl”–type format. Each round consists of questions offered in three distinct segments: Trivia/Lightening, Clinical Case and Jeopardy-style. Item content used in each segment has been developed and reviewed by an expert panel of clinical pharmacy practitioners and educators.

Submitted by: Matt Crouch