University recognizes outstanding faculty members with 2021 Faculty Awards ceremony

Published: November 11, 2021

Article body

Auburn University recognized a group of outstanding faculty members and their contributions to the institution’s instruction, research and outreach mission at the university’s annual Faculty Awards on Tuesday.

List of faculty and staff award winners:

Alumni Undergraduate Teaching Excellence Awards

The Alumni Undergraduate Teaching Excellence Awards recognize the outstanding teaching of undergraduates from nominations made by department heads, deans, alumni and students. A committee of retired faculty selects the recipients. 

Jonathan Seifried, instructor, School of Communication and Journalism, College of Liberal Arts

Keven Yost, Synovus Fellow and associate professor, Department of Finance, Harbert College of Business

Auburn University Award for Excellence in Faculty Outreach
The Award for Excellence in Faculty Outreach honors the engagement of exemplary faculty members and demonstrates the tremendous impact Outreach has on the community, state, nation and beyond. 

Adit Singh, Godbold Endowed Chair Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Samuel Ginn College of Engineering

Creative Research and Scholarship Awards
The Creative Research and Scholarship Awards recognize faculty members who have distinguished themselves through research, scholarly works and creative contributions. This award recognizes two categories: sciences, medical sciences, engineering and agriculture; and fine arts, liberal arts, architecture and design, business and social and human sciences. 

Sciences, Biomedical Sciences, Engineering and Agriculture
Dongye Zhao, Auburn Alumni Engineering Council Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Samuel Ginn College of Engineering

Fine Arts, Liberal Arts, Architecture & Design, Business, Social and Human Sciences 
Giovanna Summerfield, professor, Department of World Languages, Literatures and Cultures, College of Liberal Arts

Departmental Award for Excellence in Education
Created in 2013, the Departmental Award for Excellence in Education recognizes the efforts of departmental faculty for their commitment to improving education at both the undergraduate and graduate levels. On behalf of the Office of the Provost, the Biggio Center for the Enhancement of Teaching and Learning and the University Senate Teaching Effectiveness Committee administer this award. 

School of Accountancy, Harbert College of Business 

Distinguished Graduate Faculty Lectureship
The Distinguished Graduate Faculty Lectureship Award recognizes a faculty member based on excellence in research. It is co-sponsored by the Auburn Alumni Association and the Graduate School.

Fai Foster Dai, professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Samuel Ginn College of Engineering

Gerald and Emily Leischuck Endowed Presidential Awards for Excellence in Teaching
Gerald and Emily Leischuck, 1964 graduates and retired Auburn University administrators created the Endowed Presidential Awards for Excellence in Teaching in 2005. This award recognizes two full-time, tenured faculty members who have demonstrated effective and innovative teaching methods, along with a continued commitment to student success through advising and mentoring. 

Jennifer Robinson, professor and director of the Cognitive and Behavioral Sciences Program, Department of Psychological Sciences, College of Liberal Arts

Paul Holley, professor and director of the Center for Construction Innovation and Collaboration, McWhorter School of Building Science, College of Architecture, Design and Construction

President’s Outstanding Collaborative Units Award
Created in 2011, the award recognizes existing faculty collaborations among two or more departments, divisions, offices or programs within the university. To be considered, the work of the collaborative units must have advanced the excellence, impact and reputation of representing units and the university as a whole. 

COVID-19 Vaccination Initiative, Kimberly Braxton-Lloyd (lead representative), associate dean for Clinical Affairs and Outreach, Harrison School of Pharmacy

Provost Award for Faculty Excellence in Undergraduate Research Mentoring
Established in 2012, this award recognizes faculty who demonstrate a strong commitment to undergraduate research, whose efforts support Auburn students interested in careers in research and creative works and who have shown outstanding services to students. 

Gretchen Oliver, professor, School of Kinesiology, College of Education