Three postdoctoral fellows win awards during the Postdoctoral Research Symposium

Published: September 09, 2021

Article body

Three Auburn University postdoctoral fellows received awards for their research poster presentations during the 2021 Postdoctoral Research Symposium Sept. 2. The symposium consisted of two poster sessions followed by an awards presentation and dinner in the Grand Hall of the Brown-Kopel Engineering Student Achievement Center.

The Best Poster Awards were presented by Kimberly Mulligan-Guy, Assistant Dean of Inclusion, Equity and Diversity from the College of Sciences and Mathematics. For session one, Katherine Silliman in the College of Agriculture tied for Best Poster for her presentation on “Genomic insights into largemouth bass lineages of the southeastern U.S.” Also in a tie for Best Poster of session one was Rong Zhao of the Samuel Ginn College of Engineering with her presentation on “Partition of features on additively manufactured surfaces.” Best Poster from session two was awarded to Lovely Mae Lawas from the College of Sciences and Mathematics for her poster on “Unraveling iridoid production in blueberry: using omics to investigate plant natural products for human health.”

James Weyhenmeyer, professor and vice president for Research and Economic Development, presented opening remarks at what is planned to be the first of an annual event. Six faculty from across campus judged the poster presentations of the postdoctoral participants. George Flowers, dean of the Graduate School, presented the closing remarks.

The research symposium was organized by the Auburn University Postdoctoral Association as an opportunity to share research and promote connections with other postdoctoral fellows across campus in a variety of fields. Approximately 15 postdoctoral fellows participated in two separate sessions of poster presentations throughout the afternoon.

The 2021 Postdoctoral Research Symposium was sponsored by the Auburn University College of Sciences and Mathematics, the Office of Inclusion, Equity and Diversity and the Auburn University Graduate School.

Submitted by: Elizabeth Anderson