Five faculty members chosen as Outstanding Graduate Mentors

Published: May 17, 2021

Article body

Five Auburn faculty members have been selected as the Graduate Student Council’s 2021 Outstanding Graduate Mentors.

Below is the list of winners:

Antonio Duran, Educational Foundations, Leadership and Technology

Davide Guzzetti, Aerospace Engineering 

Joseph (Joe) Majdalani, Aerospace Engineering

Maria Soledad Peresin, Forestry and Wildlife Sciences

Jared Russell, Kinesiology

The winners were selected from a pool of nearly 30 nominees for the awards, which recognize graduate faculty members who go above and beyond their duty as teachers, advisers and mentors. A committee of graduate students reviewed the nominations and picked the winners based on the strength of the nominees’ letters of support.

This year’s Outstanding Graduate Mentors were recognized along with other Graduate School award winners at a virtual ceremony via Zoom on April 16. The Graduate Student Council has presented the Outstanding Graduate Mentor Awards since 2008.

Submitted by: Elizabeth Anderson