Office of Sustainability recognizes campus, community efforts with 2021 Spirit of Sustainability Awards

Published: April 20, 2021

Article body

The Office of Sustainability is holding its seventh Spirit of Sustainability Awards ceremony recognizing the accomplishments of students, faculty, staff and alumni who exemplify the Auburn spirit by making significant contributions toward sustainability on campus or in the community.

“Author Donella Meadows observed that ‘The future can’t be predicted, but it can be envisioned and brought lovingly into being.’  This awards ceremony is an opportunity to recognize people who envisioned something better and have done something to make it happen,” said Mike Kensler, Director of the Office of Sustainability.

Recipients were determined by their motivation and commitment to sustainability, impact on behalf of sustainability and the degree to which others were engaged and involved.

The 2021 award recipients are: Alayna Priebe, student recipient in the College of Business; Hollen Terry, student recipient in the College of Human Sciences; Anne Randle, alumna recipient with the City of Auburn; Young-A Lee, faculty recipient in the College of Human Sciences; Chandana Mitra, faculty recipient in the College of Sciences and Mathematics; Ben Burmester, staff recipient in Facilities Management; and Marley Halter, staff recipient in Campus Dining.

Group initiatives also are recognized and include the Functional Ice Initiative within the College of Agriculture, the Hunger Solutions Institute in the College of Human Sciences and Student Counseling and Psychological Services within Student Affairs.

Consideration is given to initiatives in the areas of research, instruction, outreach and operations, and campus and community projects which have taken place within the last two years and have made a significant difference in the areas of nature, the economy, society or individual well-being.

“The program was created in part to illustrate what sustainability in action looks like and to inspire others to do the same," Kensler said. "The Spirit of Sustainability Awards program is a way to honor people acting selflessly on behalf of the common good."

Royrickers Cook, Associate Provost and V. P. for University Outreach will provide introductory remarks at the private ceremony.

Read more about the awardees here.