Auburn's Model United Nations team wins several awards

Published: April 12, 2021

Article body

Auburn’s Model United Nations team was recognized for numerous awards as a result of its representation of the Kingdom of Spain at the 2021 Southern Regional Model United Nations, or SRMUN, Charlotte Virtual Conference held March 26-28. The delegation consisted of Cas Rehage, head delegate and team secretary-general/president, Joanne Kim, Coleman Mantell, Megan Watkins, Luke Owens, Andy Bowling, Elizabeth Eberwine and Justin Tran.

The delegation was recognized as an ‘honorable delegation,’ placing the team in the top 10 highest performing delegations among the 40-plus delegations represented at the conference. The team was also recognized as an “outstanding delegation for position papers” for the first time in team history, denoting the strong research and preparation Auburn's delegation put into this conference. Justin Tran, representing Spain and Auburn on the General Assembly Plenary committee was awarded an Outstanding (Individual) Committee Position Paper Award, his second of the 2020-2021 competition season. He was also acknowledged, along with his committee partner, Megan Watkins, as the “most diplomatic” individual delegation on their respective committee.

The Auburn Model UN team is looking for new competitors for next season. No prior Model UN experience is necessary to compete, and the team is open to all majors. Students interested in learning more about global politics, or enhancing their public speaking, research and debating skills in a fun and competitive environment are encouraged to participate. Participants will join a successful Auburn team and make strong connections with other students interested in many of the same topics and issues.

If you are interested in joining the Model UN team, contact the team’s faculty adviser Matthew Clary or join the team via AUInvolve to begin receiving team communications.

Submitted by: Wendy Bonner