Pharmacy's Jackson receives Saklad Memorial Award

Published: September 23, 2020

Article body

Cherry Jackson, clinical professor in the Harrison School of Pharmacy's Department of Pharmacy Practice, was recently named the recipient of the 2021 Judith J. Saklad Memorial Award from the College of Psychiatric and Neurologic Pharmacists, or CPNP.

The award is presented annually to a senior psychiatric pharmacy practitioner who has achieved a level of professional distinction and represents the qualities and ideals of professional enthusiasm, a passion for optimizing patient care and continuing dedication to the practice of psychiatric pharmacy. The Saklad Memorial Award is named after the late Judith J. Saklad and will be presented at the 2021 Annual Meeting, scheduled for April 18-21, 2021, in ChampionsGate, Florida.

Jackson is a fellow of the American Society of Health System Pharmacists and the American College of Clinical Pharmacy. She is a founding member of CPNP and a past president of the CPNP board of directors. Her clinical research interests are in the treatment of serious mental illness, pharmacogenomics and the adverse effects of psychotropic drugs.

Submitted by: Matt Crouch