Auburn University statement on revised travel ban

Published: March 06, 2017
Updated: March 07, 2017
Font Size

Article body

President Trump has revised his previous executive order that banned travel from seven countries.

We’re providing this update to the campus community so those directly impacted have the information they need and so the many others who have expressed concern are informed of the latest developments.

As we said in our previous message on this topic, Auburn is an international university. While we are diverse, we are one community and we stand with members of the Auburn Family who are impacted.  

The president’s previous executive order banned entry into the U.S. for anyone traveling from Iraq, Syria, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan and Yemen. As a result, Auburn students legally studying here were unable to return to the U.S. if they chose to go home for any reason. 

The revision drops Iraq from the list of countries. It also makes clear that the travel ban applies only to those without a visa and who have not previously entered the U.S. In other words, it doesn't impact Auburn students already in the U.S. Under this revised executive order, Auburn students from the countries listed in the executive order aren’t automatically banned from returning to campus after traveling outside the U.S.

The Association of Public & Land Grant Universities, of which Auburn is a member, is an advocacy organization in Washington, DC. Please click here for its statement issued earlier today.

The Office of International Programs stands ready to provide assistance and answer questions. The telephone number is 334-844-5001, and you are welcome to walk in at any time in 228 Foy Hall. 

Jay Gogue, President

Timothy Boosinger, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs