Auburn University announces presidential search committee

Published: September 21, 2016
Font Size

Article body

A 14-member committee headed by Birmingham businessman and Auburn Trustee Raymond J. Harbert will lead the search for Auburn University’s next president.

Auburn President Jay Gogue last week recommended that members of the university’s Board of Trustees begin the search for his replacement. Gogue will remain as president until his successor is named, expected sometime in 2017.

Members of the public are invited to an open forum to express their views on the presidential search process. The forum will be held in Langdon Hall on the Auburn campus at 2 p.m. on Thursday, Sept. 29.

In addition to Harbert, the Auburn presidential search advisory committee is composed of the following:

  • Beau Byrd II; president-elect, Auburn Alumni Association
  • Mike DeMaioribus, member, Auburn Board of Trustees
  • Deacue Fields; chair and professor, Department of Agricultural Economics
  • Thom Gossom; chair, Auburn University Foundation
  • Sharon Haynes; county coordinator, Alabama Cooperative Extension System
  • Rhea Ingram; dean, College of Business at Auburn University at Montgomery
  • Timothy Jones; chair, Auburn Administrative & Professional Assembly
  • Sarah B. Newton; member, Auburn Board of Trustees
  • Laura Plexico; associate professor, Department of Communication Disorders
  • Chris Roberts; dean, Samuel Ginn College of Engineering
  • Althea Tate; chair, Auburn Staff Council 
  • Larry Teeter; professor, School of Forestry & Wildlife Sciences
  • Jesse Westerhouse; president, Student Government Association

Interested candidates should contact R. William Funk and Associates at 214-522-1222. All other inquiries should be directed to Grant Davis in the Office of the Auburn Board of Trustees at 334-844-4866.