Auburn University’s Formula SAE Racing Team wins national competition

Published: June 21, 2016
Font Size

Article body

The Auburn University Formula Society of Automotive Engineers team took first place, in a field of 80 collegiate entries, at the Formula SAE national competition in Lincoln, Nebraska, June 15-18—the best finish in the history of the Auburn Formula team.

The team opened the competition season in May with the Formula SAE Michigan international competition and will conclude with the Formula Student Germany competition Aug. 9-14.

The team designs and builds a new, internal combustion engine, autocross style race car every year. The 2016 car features a carbon fiber monocoque structure, electronic powertrain and chassis control and a full aerodynamics package. An electric formula car is also in the works as a multiyear project and an entry into the new driverless formula car competition beginning in Germany in 2017.

"We were performing well all-around at Lincoln, and so we went into the final endurance race feeling like we had a good chance for a great overall finish," said Peter Jones, Auburn's Woltosz Professor of Mechanical Engineering and faculty advisor for War Eagle Motorsports.

"Then we won the endurance part and that pushed us into the overall win. I am proud of the students' performance in Lincoln, and of the intense design, fabrication and development work they put in leading up to the competition. It paid off, and now we look forward to competing in Germany."

Twenty-one students traveled to Lincoln, including team principal Payson Williams and technical lead Drew Campbell, both juniors in the Department of Mechanical Engineering. This is only the second three-competition season since the team was formed in 1996 and established as War Eagle Motorsports in 2001.

Auburn students who competed in the Lincoln, Nebraska, national competition:

Nathan Baker

Michael Bassie

Nick Boehm

Drew Campbell

Xiang Chen

Stuart Coats

Trey Danks

Jeff Dejax (on exchange to the team from SIGMA Clermont engineering school in France)

Davis Edwards

Bryan Golden

Steven Hough

Daniel Maddux

Andrew McCooey

Preston McGurn

Michael Moritz

Isabel Perry

Ryan Reeves

Mark Stepnowski

Garrett Vickery

Hunter Wilkinson

Payson Williams

Related Links