Auburn’s Nickson named president of Alabama Fulbright Association

Published: October 23, 2014
Font Size

Article body

AUBURN UNIVERSITY – Auburn University’s Stacey Nickson has been elected president of the Alabama Fulbright Association following a statewide vote of the associations’ alumni. Nickson is director of K-12 Outreach in the Office of the Vice President for University Outreach.

The Alabama Fulbright Association serves as host to visiting Fulbright Scholars conducting research at colleges and universities throughout Alabama. The association conducts cultural and educational tours, sharing the wealth of Alabama history, arts and scientific discovery with international scholars and guests.

“The Alabama Fulbright Association has been nationally recognized as a trailblazer in the Fulbright community,” Nickson said. “During my tenure as president, I hope to continue leading the dynamic and innovative programming set forth by our dedicated board members.”

This year, the Alabama Fulbright Association will introduce its newest program, the Fulbright Association Junior Fellows. The group is comprised of local high school students with an interest in international affairs and cross-cultural interaction. Junior Fellows will attend Alabama Fulbright Association events throughout the school year, engaging with visiting Fulbright scholars. The Junior Fellows program is a partnership program with K-12 University Outreach.

The Fulbright Association was formed in 1977 as a private, nonprofit organization whose members are Fulbright Program alumni and friends of international education. The Association supports and promotes international educational and cultural exchange to further mutual understanding among the peoples of the world.

The Fulbright Association brings together Fulbright alumni, current Fulbright visiting scholars, civic leaders and community members to engage in person-to-person diplomatic exchange. Nickson was awarded a Fulbright Specialist grant to serve at the University of Cape Town in Cape Town, South Africa in 2013.