Font Size

Notice body

The Auburn University Department of English, in the College of Liberal Arts, is hosting its annual Robert Hughes Mount, Jr. Poetry Prize, sponsored by the Academy of American Poets, and endowed by Frances Mayes. The award for the best poem submitted is $100, a one-year membership in the Academy of American Poets, and a copy of the judge’s collection of poems. One honorable mention will also receive a copy of the judge’s collection of poems.

Additionally, all winning entries written by students 23-years-old or younger will be considered for the Aliki Perroti and Seth Frank Most Promising Young Poet Award, a $1,000 award.

Graduate or undergraduate students may submit up to three poems to Rose McLarney of the Department of English. All poems must be submitted electronically—see below for details. The contest deadline is Monday, March 19.

Submission Guidelines:

• Include a cover sheet with the student’s name, mailing address, phone number, university email address and age. Any submissions missing this complete cover page will be disregarded.

• Include up to three poems.

• All poems must be submitted electronically for consideration. They should be sent from the applicant’s university email address as a single Word document attachment, including cover sheet and three poems as above, to Rose McLarney.

The prizewinner will be celebrated at the English Awards Ceremony in the spring. Questions about Auburn's contest should be directed to the Poetry Prize Coordinator, Rose McLarney.

The judge of this year’s contest is poet Laura VanProoyen. Van Prooyen is author of two collections of poetry: “Inkblot and Altar” (Pecan Grove Press 2006) and “Our House Was on Fire,” nominated by Philip Levine, awarded the McGovern Prize (Ashland Poetry Press 2015) and the 2015 Writers' League of Texas Poetry Book Award. Recent work appears in The American Poetry Review, Boston Review and The Southern Review, among others.