Font Size

Notice body

Seven Auburn faculty members joined more than 100 faculty members from all 14 Southeastern Conference universities as participants in the 2017-18 SEC Faculty Travel Program, the league office announced Sept. 14.

Invited participants from Auburn University include Katrina Akande, assistant professor of human development and family studies; Andras Bezdek, professor of mathematics; Ryan Comes, assistant professor of physics; Emily Friedman, associate professor of English; Karen McNeal, associate professor of geosciences; Yummi Park, assistant professor of political science; and Tin-Yau Tam, professor and chair of mathematics.

The program, in its sixth year, provides support for selected individuals to collaborate with colleagues at other SEC member institutions.

Through the program, the SEC provides financial assistance for its faculty members to travel to other SEC universities to exchange ideas, develop grant proposals, conduct research and deliver lectures or performances.

“The SEC Faculty Travel Program has been a tremendous resource for faculty at universities across the SEC,” said Ellen Reames, associate professor at Auburn University and former program participant. “It gives us the opportunity to work with colleagues in our field of study throughout the region. It is a very powerful tool for SEC universities.”

Program participants from each SEC university will travel throughout the academic year, and disciplines represented include engineering, marine biology, political science and linguistics, among others.

The SEC Faculty Travel Program is administered by SECU, the academic initiative of the Southeastern Conference. The SEC supports and promotes the academic endeavors of the students and faculty at its 14 member institutions.

Click here for a full list of 2017-18 SEC Faculty Travel Program participants.