Font Size

Notice body

The Center for Health Ecology and Equity Research, or CHEER, aims to promote scholarship on health disparities through various curricular initiatives.

Toward this objective, the Health Equity Course Redesign Award was created to facilitate minor revisions to existing courses to integrate foundational knowledge on the magnitude of health disparities at the local, regional and national levels, the causes and consequences of health disparities and interventions and policies that address health inequities.

A primary goal of this award is to introduce health disparities content to students at Auburn University across diverse academic disciplines.

This year, eight proposals were awarded, which span eight different departments across four schools and colleges, reaching potentially over 400 undergraduate and graduate students in the first year alone based on anticipated enrollment. This award promises to be incredibly impactful in broadening the scope of knowledge of the students at Auburn University.

The 2017 CHEER Health Equity Course Redesign awardees are:
Tannista Banerjee, Department of Economics
Dana Carroll, Department of Pharmacy Practice
Jill Crystal, Department of Political Science
Kimberly Garza, Department of Health Outcomes Research and Policy
Evelyn Hunter, Department of Special Education, Rehabilitation and Counseling
Stephanie Ostrowski and James Wright, Department of Pathobiology
Tal Peretz, Department of Sociology, Anthropology and Social Work
Kamden Strunk, Department of Educational Foundations, Leadership and Technology