Font Size

Notice body

The Auburn Model United Nations team competed at the 2017 Southern Regional Model United Nations, or SRMUN, Conference in Charlotte, North Carolina.

Matt Clary and Anthony Gazey, both faculty in the Department of Political Science, sponsored the team, which was comprised of eight Auburn students: Molly Rhodes, William Edwards, Garrett Kizer, Jessie Bridges, Kapish Batura, Kyle Munroe, Rylie Gay and David Ajomale.

The team was awarded a Distinguished Delegation award, which placed the team in the top nine delegations, out of a total of 80. In order to receive a delegation award of this type, every team member had to do well in their assigned committee, meaning this was truly a team effort. At the conference, the Auburn delegates sponsored a dozen resolutions, and the team was recognized on several occasions for its debating and leadership abilities within various committees.

Additionally, Molly Rhodes and Kapish Batura were selected out of many applicants to be delegate Chairs/Rapporteurs for their respective committees. This honor meant that these students worked on the stage with the conference staff to facilitate debate, edit working papers and resolutions, and other administrative tasks in their committees. In preparation for this conference, each member put in hours of research and writing of a formal position paper for their committee and participated in a student-organized practice crisis simulation over an entire weekend in March.

(Written by Lydia Gudauskas, graduate student in the Office of External Affairs in the College of Liberal Arts)