Font Size

Notice body

The Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry and the Auburn Section of the American Chemical Society named David W. C. MacMillan, professor of chemistry at Princeton University, the recipient of the 2017 Kosolapoff Award.

Named in honor of Professor G. M. Kosolapoff, an Auburn chemistry professor renowned for his teaching, the Kosolapoff award lectures bring outstanding chemists to speak each year on topical areas in chemistry that would be of wide interest to the general public. Of the 30 award winners to date, 12 have been Nobel laureates.

MacMillan’s lecture will take place on Wednesday, March 29, at 8 p.m. in the Sciences Center Auditorium. A reception will take place prior to the lecture beginning at 7:30 p.m. The title of his lecture is, “Why is Catalysis of Value to Society?” He will give an additional lecture titled, “New Photoredox Reactions,” on Thursday, March 30, at 3:30 p.m. in 115 Sciences Center Classrooms Building. The public is invited to attend both lectures. Contact Christian Goldsmith, associate professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, for more information at