Font Size

Notice body

Auburn faculty will vote March 2-6 for future elected leaders of the University Faculty and its representative body, the University Senate. The faculty will vote electronically for chair-elect and secretary-elect between 8 a.m., Thursday, March 2, and 5 p.m., Monday, March 6. The winners will be announced at the spring meeting of the University Faculty, scheduled for 3:30 p.m., Tuesday, March 7, in 238 Broun Hall. The University Senate will hold its monthly meeting Tuesday, March 21 at 3 p.m. in 238 Broun Hall.

Candidates for chair-elect are Michael Baginski of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering in the Samuel Ginn College of Engineering and Anthony Moss of the Department of Biological Sciences in the College of Sciences and Mathematics. Candidates for secretary-elect are Beverly Bain Marshall of the Department of Finance in the Raymond J. Harbert College of Business and Michael Tillson in the Department of Clinical Sciences in the College of Veterinary Medicine. 

Candidate statements and biographical information are posted online.

The new chair-elect and secretary-elect will move into those positions during the annual change of faculty leadership on July 1, when Daniel Svyantek will assume the office of chair of the University Senate and Donald Mulvaney will become secretary of the Senate, succeeding James Goldstein as chair and Xing Ping Hu as secretary. After working with Svyantek and Mulvaney for a year, those elected this time will move into the leadership positions in July 2018. After leaving the Senate office, Goldstein will serve for a year as faculty advisor to the Auburn University Board of Trustees.