Font Size

Notice body

The Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry and the Auburn Local Section of the American Chemical Society have named John E. Bercaw, Centennial Professor of Chemistry at CalTech, the recipient of the 2016 Kosolapoff Award. Named in honor of Professor G. M. Kosolapoff, a Auburn Chemistry professor renowned for his teaching, the Kosolapoff award lectures bring outstanding chemists to speak each year on topical areas in chemistry that would be of wide interest to the general public. Of the 30 award winners to date, 12 have been Nobel laureates. Bercaw will give two lectures at Auburn University. The first talk, titled, “Approaches to Selective Catalytic Upgrading of Light Hydrocarbons Using Oxidative Routes,” will begin at 8 p.m. on April 6 in the Sciences Center Auditorium. The lecture will be preceded by a reception beginning at 7:15 p.m. The second talk, titled, “Light Olefin Trimerization with Chromium and Titanium Catalysts,” will begin at 3:45 p.m. on April 7 in 115 Sciences Center Classrooms building. Both events are open to the public. For more information, contact Christian Goldsmith at