Font Size

Notice body

Auburn faculty will vote March 1-7 for future elected leaders of the University Faculty and its representative body, the University Senate. The faculty will vote electronically for chair-elect and secretary-elect between 8 a.m., Tuesday, March 1,  and 5 p.m., Monday, March 7. The winners will be announced at the spring meeting of the University Faculty, scheduled for 3:30 p.m., Tuesday, March 8, in Broun Hall. The University Senate will hold its monthly meeting on March 22 at 3 p.m. in Broun Hall.

Candidates for chair-elect are Daniel Svyantek of Psychology and Jared Russell of Kinesiology, and candidates for secretary-elect are Anthony Moss of Biological Sciences and Don Mulvaney of Animal Sciences.

Candidate statements and biographical information are posted online.

The new chair-elect and secretary-elect will move into those positions during the annual change of faculty leadership on July 1, when R. James Goldstein will assume the office of chair of the University Senate and Xing Ping Hu will become secretary of the Senate, succeeding Larry Teeter as chair and Laura Plexico as secretary. After working with Goldstein and Hu for a year, those elected this time will move into the leadership positions in July 2017.  After leaving the Senate office, Teeter will serve for a year as faculty advisor to the Auburn University Board of Trustees.