Font Size

Notice body

Pamela Wells Sheffield Award

Nominations are being accepted until July 31 for the 2015 Pamela Wells Sheffield Award, which is presented annually to a woman who best embodies selfless service and commitment to Auburn University and the Auburn family. The award was established April 27, 1991, by the Office of the President and the Athletic Department to honor, commemorate and perpetuate the memory and good works of Pamela Wells Sheffield. 

The award is presented to an Auburn woman -- alumna, student or friend -- in whose life are manifested the qualities of Pam Sheffield's dedication to Auburn: love, commitment and, above all, quality. Quantity of contribution will be considered, but quality of contribution, the daily love and care that marked Pam Sheffield's commitment will be of the essence in selecting the recipient of this award. The first award was presented posthumously to Pamela Wells Sheffield '65 in 1991. Sheffield's work touched virtually every aspect of university life; her service to the university included involvement with students, academics, athletics, alumni affairs and the community. 

Walter Gilbert Award

Nominations are being accepted for the 2015 Walter Gilbert Award which is presented annually to one of Auburn's prominent and distinguished athletic alumni. The award is presented each fall at one of the Tigers' football games. The Walter Gilbert Award recognizes Auburn athletes who have distinguished themselves through achievements after graduation from Auburn. Only those varsity athletes who have demonstrated excellence in their chosen field by 20 or more years of superior performance will be eligible for the Gilbert Award. 

Walter Gilbert was Auburn's second All-American football player. He made All-America as a center in 1934, 1935 and 1936. He was later selected for membership in the College Football Hall of Fame. Gilbert went to work for Texaco two days after graduating from Auburn and became head of Texaco's European oil operations before retiring in 1977. He lived in Auburn from 1977 until his death in 1979 and was an avid supporter of Auburn's athletic program. 


All nomination information will be reviewed by the Auburn University Faculty Committee on Intercollegiate Athletics, which has responsibility for the selection of the recipient. The deadline for nominations is July 31, 2015.

For additional questions or details on how to nominate a deserving Auburn candidate, contact Beverly DeVane at (334) 844-9523, (334) 844-9562 (fax) or