Font Size

Notice body

Auburn had a strong presence in the inaugural Alabama Pharmacy Hall of Fame class with connections to seven of the members. The class was announced June 22 at the Alabama Pharmacy Association Annual Convention and Trade Show in Destin, Fla.

The 23-member class included the 15 founding members from when the association was started in 1881. Of the remaining eight, five are Auburn alums with two others holding strong connections to the Auburn Pharmacy program.

Auburn graduates named to the Hall of Fame were John P. Beasley, class of '55, of Columbia; Anthony J. Brooklere, class of '58, of Adamsville; Charles E. Prickett, class of '61, of Hoover; and James O. Walker, class of '57, of Gardendale. Inducted posthumously was James R. Kuykendall, class of '49, of Fort Payne.

Additionally, two pharmacists with strong ties to Auburn’s pharmacy program were inducted. Honored in person was James, I. Harrison Jr. of Tuscaloosa, the namesake of the Harrison School of Pharmacy. Inducted posthumously was William W. Walker Jr., the father of James O. Walker and the namesake of the Walker Building. To read more, visit this website.