Font Size

Notice body

Former Auburn swimmer TJ Leon has been named one of three finalists for the NCAA’s Walter Byers Postgraduate Scholarship.

Leon competed for the Auburn men from 2010-14, earning two NCAA relay titles and five All-America selections while serving as a team captain. The Mobile, Alabama, native graduated from Auburn in December 2014 with a degree in biomedical sciences and was named a finalist for the prestigious Rhodes Scholarship last fall.

He was also the recipient of the Cliff Hare Award presented annually to the top male student-athlete at Auburn and was the winner of the 2014 SEC Men’s Swimming and Diving Male Scholar Athlete of the Year.

The Walter Byers Postgraduate Scholarship was established by the NCAA in 1988. Each year, the Walter Byers Postgraduate Scholarship awards $24,000 to one male and one female student-athlete, who possesses outstanding academic achievement as well as the potential success in postgraduate studies.

To be nominated, applicants must have a 3.5 or higher cumulative GPA, have competed in intercollegiate athletics as a member of a varsity team at NCAA member institution and be a graduating senior or enrolled in graduate studies.

The winners of the Walter Byers Postgraduate Scholarship Award will be announced in mid-May.

For the latest updates on Auburn Swimming and Diving, follow the Tigers on Twitter @AuburnSwimming or like Auburn Swimming and Diving on Facebook.