Font Size

Notice body

The Alabama State Senate Thursday unanimously approved Gaines Lanier for membership on the Auburn Board of Trustees.

Lanier, chairman and CEO of J. Smith Lanier and Co., will represent District 5 for a second seven-year term. District 5 includes Chambers, Cherokee, Cleburne, DeKalb, Etowah, Marshall, Randolph and Tallapoosa Counties.

Lanier was chosen from among 19 nominees. The selection committee was composed of Seth Hammett, who represented Gov. Robert Bentley; current Auburn Trustees Charles McCrary and Raymond Harbert; and two members of the Auburn Alumni Association Board, Beau Byrd and Bob Jones.

Auburn trustees next meet on Friday, June 5.