Font Size

Notice body

Auburn faculty will vote March 3-9 for future elected leaders of the University Faculty and its representative body, the University Senate. The faculty will vote electronically for chair-elect and secretary-elect between 8 a.m., Tuesday, March 3,  and 5 p.m., Monday, March 9. The winners will be announced at the spring meeting of the University Faculty, scheduled for 3:30 p.m., Tuesday, March 10, in Broun Hall. In the meantime, the University Senate will hold its monthly meeting on March 3 at 3 p.m., in Broun Hall.

Candidates for chair-elect are David Cicci of Aerospace Engineering and James Goldstein of English, and candidates for secretary-elect are Michael Baginski of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Xing Ping Hu of Entomology and Plant Pathology.

Candidate statements and biographical information are posted on the University Senate News Page.

The new chair-elect and secretary-elect will move into those positions during the annual change of faculty leadership on July 1, when Larry Teeter will assume the office of chair of the University Senate and Laura Plexico will become secretary of the Senate, succeeding Patricia Duffey as chair and Gisela Buschle-Diller as secretary. After working with Teeter and Plexico for a year, those elected this time will move into the leadership positions in July 2016.  After leaving the Senate office, Duffey will serve for a year as faculty advisor to the Auburn University Board of Trustees.