Font Size

Notice body

The Auburn University Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry and the Auburn Local Section of the American Chemical Society announced the winner of the 2015 Kosolapoff Award, professor Edward Solomon of Stanford University. On Wednesday, March 18, at 8 p.m., in the Sciences Center Auditorium, Solomon will present an award lecture aimed at a general audience titled, "Bioinorganic Spectroscopy: Activating Copper Sites for Electron Transfer." The lecture is open to the public. A reception will precede the lecture at 7 p.m. On Thursday, March 19, at 4 p.m., in 134 Chemistry, Solomon will give a lecture aimed at an audience with an interest in chemistry or physics titled, "Copper/Dioxygen (Bio)Inorganic Chemistry." Named for professor G. M. Kosolapoff, an Auburn chemistry professor renowned for his teaching skills, the Kosolapoff award lectures bring outstanding chemists to speak each year on topical areas in chemistry that would be of wide interest to the general public. Of the 29 award winners, 12 have been Nobel laureates. For more information, contact Anne Gorden at