Font Size

Notice body

The Auburn University Journalism Advisory Council is accepting nominations of journalists with Alabama ties for its distinguished annual awards. The deadline for submission is Dec. 1. Nominators are to provide appropriate background information and make a case for the nominee, specifying the nomination category. The categories are: Distinguished Alabama Community Journalist; Distinguished Alabama Community Sports Journalist; Distinguished Special Achievement in Journalism; Distinguished Mass Media Achievement; and Distinguished AU Journalism Alumnus. More information about the categories can be found at this website. Each nomination requires a separate letter or email. Please include current contact data for the nominee. Recipients are chosen after multiple nominations. A panel of nine non-faculty judges determines recipients. Submit nominations to Cy Wood, AUJ Advisory Council Chair, by email at or by mail to Box 850, Lanett, Alabama 36863. For more information, please contact Cy Wood at (334)644-8123 or (706)585-0785.