Email not displaying? View it in your browser
Auburn News
For the faculty and staff of Auburn University
March 7, 2017

Auburn News: For the faculty and staff of Auburn University

Auburn University statement on revised travel ban

President Trump has revised his previous executive order that banned travel from seven countries.

We’re providing this update to the campus community so those directly impacted have the information they need and so the many others who have expressed concern are informed of the latest developments.

As we said in our previous message on this topic, Auburn is an international university. While we are diverse, we are one community and we stand with members of the Auburn Family who are impacted.  

The president’s previous executive order banned entry into the U.S. for anyone traveling from Iraq, Syria, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan and Yemen. As a result, Auburn students legally studying here were unable to return to the U.S. if they chose to go home for any reason. 

The revision drops Iraq from the list of countries. It also makes clear that the travel ban applies only to those without a visa and who have not previously entered the U.S. In other words, it doesn't impact Auburn students already in the U.S. Under this revised executive order, Auburn students from the countries listed in the executive order aren’t automatically banned from returning to campus after traveling outside the U.S.

The Association of Public & Land Grant Universities, of which Auburn is a member, is an advocacy organization in Washington, D.C. Please click here for its statement issued earlier this week.

The Office of International Programs stands ready to provide assistance and answer questions. The telephone number is 334-844-5001, and you are welcome to walk in at any time in 228 Foy Hall. 

Jay Gogue, President

Timothy Boosinger, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

University Senate chair-elect and secretary-elect announced

Pictured, from left, are Michael Baginski and Beverly Bain Marshall. 

Michael Baginski was voted chair-elect of the Auburn University Senate and Beverly Bain Marshall was voted secretary-elect, announced at the General Faculty Meeting today. Baginski and Marshall will move into those positions during the annual change of faculty leadership on July 1, when Daniel Svyantek will assume the office of chair of the University Senate and Don Mulvaney will become secretary of the Senate, succeeding James Goldstein as chair and Xing Ping Hu as secretary. After working with Svyantek and Mulvaney for a year, Baginski and Marshall will move into the leadership positions in July 2018. After leaving the Senate office, Goldstein will serve for a year as faculty advisor to the Auburn University Board of Trustees.

Robert Boyd awarded Gerald and Emily Leischuck Endowed Presidential Award for Excellence in Teaching

Pictured, from left, are biology Professor Robert Boyd and Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Timothy Boosinger. 

The one thing biology Professor Robert Boyd hopes his students gain from their time in his class is a cure for their plant blindness.

“Many students walk throughout the world filled with plants and they don’t recognize them. They see them as the green stage on which life is played. They are plant blind,” Boyd said. “I try to remove the plant blindness and get them excited or engaged with the idea that there is this whole aspect of the world they may not know.” [Read more]

Auburn Alumni Association honors lifetime achievers

Pictured, from left, are Beau Byrd, K-Rob Thomas, Nelda K. Lee, Dwight L. Wiggins, Coach Pat Dye, Admiral Mike Rogers and Gretchen VanValkenburg.

The Auburn Alumni Association recognized the four recipients of its highest honor, the Lifetime Achievement Award, in an induction ceremony March 4 at The Hotel at Auburn University and Dixon Conference Center. The lifetime achievers are Pat Dye, former Auburn head football coach; Nelda Lee '69, a pioneer of women in aviation and aerospace engineering; Navy Adm. Mike Rogers '81, commander of U.S. Cyber Command and director of the National Security Agency; and Dwight Wiggins '62, retired CEO of the Tosco Refining Co.

K-Rob Thomas '01, transmission construction general manager at Alabama Power Co., is the recipient of the Young Alumni Achievement Award, which recognizes extraordinary accomplishments of a member of the Auburn Family age 40 and under. [Read more]

Third 'Spring Into Mell' workshop set for March 21-22

The Biggio Center's third Spring Into Mell workshop is scheduled for Tuesday, March 21, and Wednesday, March 22. This four-part interactive workshop series will prepare Auburn faculty and GTAs to teach in the new Mell Classroom Building's Engaged Active Student Learning, or EASL, classrooms. The workshops will be in 246 Foy Hall.

This workshop will teach faculty and GTAs the three levels of technology available in the new Mell classroom spaces and how to incorporate technology into their classes to engage students. Faculty will also practice using some of the technology tools. Participants will receive "how to" instructions for some of the most common tech tools and will work toward becoming trained and comfortable with the new technology by working in teams to solve course design and student engagement problems using technology. To register and learn more about this workshop, go to the Biggio Center website

Auburn professor: Raising bank capital requirement may hold key to heading off future crises

After a housing boom and bust triggered a broader financial crisis in 2008 and, eventually, the Great Recession, American lawmakers responded in familiar fashion.

They passed legislation.

In this case, the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act was signed into law and described by the president as essential in ensuring citizens will "never again" be subjected to another devastating financial crisis. [Read more]

Consul general of Hungary met with President Jay Gogue

Pictured, from left, are Senior Counsel to the President Anna Gramberg, Consul General John Parkerson and President Jay Gogue.

John E. Parkerson Jr., honorary consul general of Hungary in Atlanta, met with President Jay Gogue on Tuesday, Feb. 28. The visit was the latest in a series of visits from international dignitaries and is part of a strategic plan to enhance education by providing more international experiences for students. During this visit, the honorary consul general also met with students, faculty, administrators and staff. 

Alabama-Germany Partnership looks at healthcare in Alabama

The Alabama-Germany Partnership held a seminar, “The State of Healthcare in Alabama,” Friday at the Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine, or VCOM. Participating in a panel discussion were, from left, Terry Andrus, president and CEO of East Alabama Medical Center; Capt. Michele Kane, deputy chief medical officer for the Bureau of Navy Medicine and Surgery and an Auburn University at Montgomery alumna; and Dixie Tooke-Rawlins, provost and president of VCOM. The Alabama-Germany Partnership facilitates business collaborations and fosters cultural exchanges between businesses and individuals with ties to Alabama and Germany. The event was sponsored by VCOM and the Auburn Research and Technology Foundation, or ARTF. More information is available at

Auburn University logo




Calendar of Events

AUM Pressroom

Extension News

Copyright , Auburn University office of communications & marketing