Email not displaying? View it in your browser
Auburn News
For the faculty and staff of Auburn University
Jan. 20, 2017

Auburn News: For the faculty and staff of Auburn University

Auburn Trustee Selection Committee announces appointments to university’s board

The Auburn University Trustee Selection Committee has recommended, pictured above from left, Lloyd Austin, Quentin Riggins and Raymond Harbert, as at-large members of the university’s governing body. Their appointments are subject to confirmation by the Alabama Senate.

Former Alabama House Speaker Seth Hammett represented Gov. Robert Bentley on the Selection Committee. He thanked the seven individuals interviewed for the three positions along with the more than 90 who applied. [Read more]

Hansen named dean of Auburn’s Harrison School of Pharmacy

Richard Hansen, a department head and professor in the Harrison School of Pharmacy at Auburn University, has been named the new dean of the school following a national search, effective May 15.

Hansen is the Sandra Kent Gilliland and David Louie Gilliland Endowed Professor and head of the Department of Health Outcomes Research and Policy. Prior to coming to Auburn in 2010, he had been an assistant and associate professor in the Division of Pharmaceutical Outcomes and Policy at the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill Eshelman School of Pharmacy. [Read more]

Auburn researchers offer lawmakers advice on self-driving vehicles

Pictured with an autonomous vehicle are, from left, Grant Apperson, Stephen Geiger, Scott Martin, Velislav Stamenov, Andrew Eick, professor Bevly and Sen. Tom Whatley.

A committee of Alabama legislators visited Auburn University on Thursday to learn more about the university’s research on self-driving vehicles before lawmakers consider introducing legislation governing these vehicles in the state.

The Alabama Legislative Committee to Study Self-Driving Vehicles heard presentations from experts in the automotive industry and academia, including Auburn University’s David Bevly, professor of mechanical engineering and director of the GPS and Vehicle Dynamics Laboratory. [Read more]

Auburn University logo




Calendar of Events

AUM Pressroom

Extension News

Copyright , Auburn University office of communications & marketing