This is Auburn Auburn University Faculty Awards Office of Communications & Marketing

Auburn University Faculty Awards

Auburn University Faculty Awards

Distinguished Graduate Faculty Lectureship

This award is jointly sponsored by the Auburn Alumni Association and the Auburn University Graduate School. The recipients are nominated by dean and department heads and chosen by the Graduate Faculty Council on the basis of excellence in research.

Malcolm Crocker
Distinguished University Professor – Mechanical Engineering
Samuel Ginn College of Engineering

Picture of Malcolm Crocker

Malcolm Crocker came to Auburn University in 1983 to assume the role as professor and head of the Department of Mechanical Engineering. Prior to that, he was a member of the Purdue University faculty for 13 years. In addition to his earned degrees, Crocker has been awarded two honorary doctorates: one in 2000 from the University of Craiova in Romania and the other in 1995 from Baltic State University in St. Petersburg, Russia. Honored as a Distinguished University Professor in 1990, Crocker's accolades include receiving Auburn University's Creative Research Award in 2004 and being elected as a fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers in 2000. In the field of publications, he has served as editor-in-chief on three books: Handbook of Noise and Vibration Control (2004), Handbook of Acoustics (1998), and Encyclopedia of Acoustics (1997). His research interests are in Acoustical Properties of Road Pavement Surfaces and Prediction of Noise and Vibration of Spacecraft at Launch.