This is Auburn Auburn University Faculty Awards Office of Communications & Marketing

Auburn University Faculty Awards

Auburn University Faculty Awards

Alumni Professors

Twenty-five, five-year non-renewable Alumni Professorships are sponsored by the Auburn Alumni Association. The Alumni Writer-in-Residence, a creative writer from the English faculty, is the only ongoing appointment. The Vice President for Academic Affairs/Provost calls for nominations from department heads through deans. The awards are presented on the basis of research, publishing and teaching.

Chris Correia
Associate Professor – Psychology
College of Liberal Arts

Photo of Chris Correia

After completing his PhD in clinical psychology, Chris Correia completed an internship in clinical psychology at the Syracuse Veterans Administration Medical Center and a post-doctoral training fellowship at the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine's Behavioral Pharmacology Research Unit. Currently, his research activities focus on understanding the use and abuse of a variety of psychoactive substances. Some more specific current interests include behavioral and cognitive-motivational treatments and developing laboratory procedures to study the reinforcing value of alcohol and other drugs. Correia is also the clinical supervisor for the university's Health Behavior Assessment Center, which provides brief assessments and interventions for students with concerns about their alcohol use. His favorite place on campus is Plainsman Park as he has always loved baseball and really enjoys supporting Auburn's team.

Drew Hamilton
Professor – Computer Science and Software Engineering
Samuel Ginn College of Engineering

Photo of Drew Hamilton

As a professor of computer science and engineering and director of Auburn's Information Assurance Center, Drew Hamilton enjoys teaching computer security, software architecture and software engineering, and his teaching interests are directly applicable to his research areas. His teaching philosophy brings research into the classroom to excite students and ensure that the material is fresh, relevant and cutting edge. Hamilton, who came to Auburn in 2001, is also the immediate past president of the Society for Modeling & Simulation International, chair of ACM's Special Interest Group on Simulation, a member of the board of directors of the Alabama Modeling & Simulation Council and director of Auburn University's branch of the McLeod Institute of Simulation Science. Hamilton is a member of the Simulation Interoperability Standards Organization and has previously served on the SISO Conference Committee. He is currently an associate editor for Transactions of the Society for Modeling & Simulation and a consulting editor for the Journal of Defense Modeling and Simulation. Hamilton says he came to Auburn because it was by far the friendliest campus he had interviewed with and he really likes it here.

Jay M. Khodadadi
Professor – Mechanical Engineering
Samuel Ginn College of Engineering

Photo of Jay M. Khodadadi

Jay Khodadadi brings 23 years of experience to Auburn University's classrooms and laboratories. He is the recipient of the 2000 and 2007 Outstanding Faculty Member Award, the 2003 William F. Walker Merit Teaching Award and the 1998 Birdsong Teaching Award. He has been a member of the American Society for Engineering Education since 1987, the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics since 1984 and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers since 1979. Khodadadi's research interests include thermal energy storage, fluid mechanics and heat storage. His teaching and research specialties are computational fluid dynamics, experimental fluid mechanics, materials processing, microfluidics, nanofluids, phase change materials, thermal energy storage and transport/storage of liquefied natural gas. His numerous publications include submissions to the Journal of Heat Transfer, International Journal of Heat and Mass Transfer, Journal of Fluids Engineering, MicroElectroMechanical Systems and Journal of Micromechanics and Microengineering. His favorite place on campus is the Arboretum which provides many peaceful moments.

Tin-Man Lau
Professor – Industrial Design
College of Architecture, Design and Construction

Photo of Tin-Man Lau

Tin-Man Lau's research and teaching interests include the integration of design methodologies into the product development process, rapid prototyping methods and 3D computer modeling techniques. Lau teaches advanced product design, industrial design thesis, advanced computer-aided design and graduate design orientation. Each summer, Lau leads the eight-week study abroad Taiwan program in collaboration with Shu-Te University's Department of Product Design. The program offers industrial design students an opportunity to develop their skills within an international design team while gaining exposure to a different culture. Lau has been recognized by the College of Architecture, Design and Construction, earning the Outstanding Teaching Award, and was named one of the 25 most admired design educators by DesignIntelligence magazine for three consecutive years. He says his favorite place on campus, aside from his workplace, is the football stadium.

Kenneth W. Noe
Draughon Professor – History
College of Liberal Arts

Photo of Kenneth W. Noe

A native of Virginia, Kenneth Noe taught at West Georgia College for 10 years before coming to Auburn in 2000. His major teaching and research areas are the American Civil War and Appalachian history. He is the author or editor of six books, including Reluctant Rebels: The Confederates Who Joined the Army After 1861 andSouthwest Virginia's Railroad: Modernization and the Sectional Crisis. He also has written many articles and essays, most recently in Civil War History and The Journal of Military History. He is a Pulitzer Prize nominee and the winner of the 2003 Kentucky Governor's Award, the 2002 Peter Seaborg Book Award for Civil War Non-fiction and the 1997 Tennessee History Book Award, as well as several teaching awards. Noe is a frequent speaker on the Civil War Round Table circuit and a participant in the Organization of American Historians Distinguished Lectureship Program. He was the 2008-09 president of the Alabama Historical Association. Noe states that his proudest moment was watching his son, Jesse, walk across the stage to receive his Auburn diploma and then “fist-bump” Bo Jackson in 2005.